Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Students win top math honors PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Sumdog math contest winners are pictured from left, front row, Tamara Penzing, Emmanuel Vasquez, Cade Killin, Alexis Vega Llanas, Ashley Rahe, Tate Dille, Miles Sprague and Rachel Krueger; second row, Gage Sprague, Elby Kropp, Jimena Nuñez, Heather Anderson, Elise Krogmeier, Max Dirks, Tyla Knutson, Miranda Morales, Alexie Metzger and Cooper Goldenstein; and back row, Savannah Burris, Kyra Loutensock, Alicia Astorga, Eduardo Quintana, Hunter Bergstrom, Maura Castillo, Nain Vasquez and Angel Rojo Ramirez. Not pictured are Erin Andersen, Evan Jones and Isaiah Rahe.  —Enterprise photo

From Nov. 9-5, students in grades 2-6 participated in a math contest, competing against other schools in central and northeast Colorado.

During the week of the contest, students answered up to 1,000 math problems and earned one point for each question they answered correctly. During the contest, 285 students participated to answer 81,405 questions correctly.

The Sumdog website quizzes students on math problems from the national Common Core Curriculum. Students practice their math skills by answering math problems while playing games with other students from all across the globe.

Holyoke students won seven of the top 10 positions in the contest. Fourth-grader Tate Dille was in second place with 949 correct answers. Second-grader Cooper Goldenstein was in third place with 916 correct, second-grader Elise Krogmeier fourth with 909 and second-grader Jimena Nuñez sixth with 891.

Fourth-grader Ashley Rahe scored seventh place with 891, third-grader Cade Killin ninth with 887 and fifth-grader Alexis Vega Llanas 10th with 885.

Holyoke students who finished 1,000 problems in the contest were:

Erin Andersen, Heather Anderson, Alicia Astorga, Hunter Bergstrom, Savannah Burris, Maura Castillo, Tate Dille, Max Dirks, Cooper Goldenstien, Evan Jones, Cade Killin, Tyla Knutson, Elise Krogmeier, Elby Kropp, Rachel Krueger, Kyra Loutensock, Alexie Metzger, Miranda Morales, Jimena Nuñez, Eduardo Quintana, Ashley Rahe, Isaiah Rahe, Angel Rojo Ramirez, Gage Sprague, Miles Sprague, Emmanuel Vasquez, Nain Vasquez and Alexis Vega Llanas.

Holyoke Enterprise Novebmer 29, 2012