Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
HHS athletes recognized for spring performances PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

This year’s recipients of the three sports/four years awards are pictured from left,
Patricia Adams, Mallory Bennett, Brian DeBoer and Marci Vasa. Not pictured is
Becca Brandt.         —Enterprise photo

Holyoke High School students were recognized during the spring athletic awards night at HHS Tuesday, May 24.

Athletic director Kimberlee Bennett emceed the program and recognized five seniors with three for four awards. This award is given to those athletes who participate in three sports all four years of their high school career.

Award recipients in the Class of 2011 were Patricia Adams, Mallory Bennett, Becca Brandt, Brian DeBoer and Marci Vasa.

Coaches for HHS spring sports honored participating athletes as follows:


Coaches Sandra Rahe and Rod Trumper presented track awards.

Letterwinners for the 2011 season were seniors Patricia Adams, Seth Baker, Mallory Bennett, Becca Brandt, Heather Duester, Cody Fricke, Trixi Presich, Pekka Roivas, Joel Rodriguez, Ella Stewart and Marci Vasa.

Also juniors KrisAnna Ham, Alex Quintana, Matt Wittman and Jordan Zeiler; sophomores Matt Golden, Lindsay Helgoth, Cierra Prelle and manager Rachel Schneider; and freshmen Shobi Burris, Tia Huffman, Alyssa Killin, Maddie King, Jacinda Krueger, manager Shaylee Krueger, Alan Madrid, Ryan Parker, Audi Peña, Eva Penzing, Brittney Prottsman and Jacob Vasa.

Receiving a participation award was freshman Brenda Hernandez, who served as manager for part of the season and then as a participant.

Athletes recognized for their participation in the state track meet were Adams, Baker, Bennett, Duester, Fricke, Ham, Jacinda Krueger, Parker, Peña, Prelle, Presich, Quintana, Rodriguez, Marci Vasa and Zeiler.

Girls’ golf

Girls’ golf coaches Garrett Gordon and Jennifer Koops presented golf awards.

Freshman Makayla Spitz received a letter. She was the only golfer to compete in regional competition. She was also named team captain for next year’s 2012 season.

Coach Gordon said the girls primarily played junior varsity golf this year. Receiving participation awards were senior Briar Bergner, sophomore Caity Kramer and freshmen Kelsey Kramer and Dominique Slack.



Baseball coaches Kyle Bules, Marcus Kammer and Brett Gerk presented baseball awards.

Receiving letters for the 2011 season were seniors Dustin Carrick and Brian DeBoer; juniors Reid Baumgartner and Austin Killin.

Also sophomores Brett Cumming, Jaydin Goldenstein, Jesus Hermosillo, Deyten Klein, Alfredo Santos and Logan Zeiler; and freshmen Trevor Dalton and Logan Tharp.

Participation awards were presented to Chris Bieber, Nick Mitchell, Cesar Hinostrosa, Spencer Kotch, Ben Martinez, Astolfo Rojo, Wyatt Bishop, Ryan Krogmeier, Zach Roll and Tanner Smith.

Holyoke Enterprise June 2, 2011