Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
50 to graduate Sunday PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Fifty students in Holyoke High School’s Class of 2011 will be recognized at Commencement exercises this Sunday, May 15 at 2 p.m. in the HHS gym.

A Baccalaureate service will begin at 1 p.m. in the HHS auditorium. The service is being coordinated by Holyoke Ministerial Alliance, and Pastor Chad Rozelle of First Baptist Church will be the speaker.

Commencement will be highlighted with special music by high school seniors and junior and senior high bands. The seniors will sing Maybe Someday while the bands will perform Afterburn along with the processional music. The band is under the direction of Stuart Potter, and the senior students are under Marcia Dalton.

Citizenship award winners will be recognized by American Legion Post 90 and its Auxiliary.

Counselor Summer Maloney will announce scholarships while school board members Laura Krogmeier and Jon King hand out diplomas. HHS Principal Susan Ortner and Alternative High School Director Clark Ginapp will present the class.

Supt. Bret Miles will give the welcome at Sunday’s graduation, while class president Cody Fricke will give the class farewell.

Valedictorian and salutatorian honors will not be announced until Friday, May 13. Those students will speak at graduation.

2011 class members will also remember classmate Yesenia Coronado with a special presentation.

Members of the Class of 2011 are Emma Mae Adams, Patricia Lorene Adams, Seth Allen Baker, Christina Danielle Banaka, Mallory Alayne Bennett, Briar Kathleen Rose Bergner, Lauren Evalena Blomme, Logan Trent Bly, Rebecca Elaine Brandt, Dustin Eugene Carrick, Karla Ivette Castillo, Justin James Cooper, Brian John DeBoer.

Skyler Daniel Dittmer, Tanairi Dominguez, Heather Lynn Duester, Christa Elise Durbin, Cody Robert Fricke, Efrain Garcia, Perry Leroy Garrett, Paul Devin Tylor Glittenberg, José Alberto Goytia, Grant Willis Greenman, Kaylee Megan Groshans, Sarah Elizabeth Heermann, Sharlene Hiatt.

Abel Juarez, Preston David King, Catrina LaVonne Krueger, Sara Jean Kumm, Pamela Jean McWilliams, Taylor Mignone, Sydney Ann Nelson, Ana Isabel Ochoa, Ana Karen Ochoa, Brandi M. Orand, Christina Isabel Ortega, Jessica Cassandra Pell, Beatrix Pia Presich, Zayra Anai Quintana.

Chantel LeAnn Rafert, Joel J. Rodriguez, Pekka Niilo Tapani Roivas, Michael Allen Stark, Eleanor Marie Stewart, Kracinda Lea Thompson, Marcella Ruth Vasa, Brisa Vega-Juarez, Jacob Walter Woolf and Christopher Yanez.

Motto for the Class of 2011 is “Hakuna Matata.” Class colors are purple and silver, and the flower is the purple rose tipped with silver.

Senior members of National Honor Society are Mallory Bennett, Lauren Blomme, Becca Brandt, Brian DeBoer, Kaylee Groshans, Sarah Heermann, Catrina Krueger, Sydney Nelson and Ella Stewart.

Junior class grand marshalls are Laura Gerk and Austin Killin, while ushers are Emily Bradley, Erin Lebsack, Jeremy Loutensock and Alex Quintana.