Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
FBLA celebrates effort in 'breaking barriers' in 2010-11 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

“Breaking Barriers” has been the Future Business Leaders of America emphasis this year, and Holyoke FBLA chapter members acknowledged success at the April 26 recognition night.

Chapter president Sydney Nelson recognized the effort involved in making FBLA one of the premiere youth organizations. She thanked parents, staff, program helpers and adviser Kristie Ham for their support.

Special chapter awards were presented by Ham to Nelson, outstanding member; Molly Brandt, outstanding new member; and Brooke Parker, outstanding chapter contributions.

FBLA members receiving special recognition awards last Tuesday are
pictured from left, Molly Brandt, outstanding new member; Brooke
Parker, outstanding chapter contributions; and Sydney Nelson,
outstanding member.        —Enterprise photo

Ham also recognized and told a story about each of the senior members, as well as the exchange students who have been members this past year.

FBLA members were recognized for their years of participation as follows:

Fourth-year members—Briar Bergner, Sarah Heermann, Catrina Krueger and Nelson.

Third-year members—Teanna Amaral, Karina Avila, Brian DeBoer, Christa Durbin, Margarita Fierro, KrisAnna Ham, Carolina Hermosillo, Brooke Parker, Alex Quintana, Whitni Redman and Alyssa Roll.

Second-year members—Patricia Adams, Becca Brandt, Lindsay Helgoth, Preston King, Jeremy Loutensock, Leo Ortiz, Mallory Bennett, Chris Pell and Taylor Overton.

First-year members—Ella Stewart, Elissa Baker, Lauren Blomme, Molly Brandt, Marissa Chambers, Alyssa Cordova, Brett Cumming, Chandler Gerk, Kaylee Groshans, Jacinda Krueger, Shaylee Krueger, Alexis Lenhart, Ben Martinez, Leo Ochoa, Gabi Pascua, Jessica Pell, Cierra Prelle, Gaby Quintana, Chantel Rafert, Emanuel Rapp, Astolfo Rojo and Julian Titze.

Outgoing FBLA president Sydney Nelson, pictured at left, passes the
gavel to Alex Quintana who will serve as president for 2011-12.  
—Enterprise photo

State executive vice president Whitni Redman shared a multi-media presentation highlighting the 2010-11 FBLA year in Holyoke.

Members were recognized for district and state awards received in the past year, as well as chapter awards and achievements.

Appreciation was noted for parent sponsors, administrators, school board, business advisory committee, state leadership conference event sponsors and Partnership with Business project sponsors.

Shirley Kadlec of American Legion Post #90 shared a story with the gathered group, leaving the message, “Follow your dream and follow it all the way through.”

At the close of Tuesday’s program, adviser Ham installed the 2011-12 FBLA officers.

They include Alex Quintana, president; Whitni Redman, exofficio vice president; Brooke Parker, vice president; Alyssa Cordova, secretary; Taylor Overton, treasurer; KrisAnna Ham, reporter; Margarita Fierro, historian; Molly Brandt, fundraising coordinator; Teanna Amaral, public relations; and Ben Martinez, student council representative.

New FBLA officers installed at Tuesday’s recognition program are pictured from left, front row, KrisAnna
Ham, reporter; Alyssa Cordova, secretary; Brooke Parker, vice president; Whitni Redman, exofficio vice
president; and Teanna Amaral, public relations; and back row, Ben Martinez, student council rep; Molly
Brandt, fundraising coordinator; Alex Quintana, president; and Taylor Overton, treasurer. Not pictured
is historian Margarita Fierro.      —Enterprise photo