Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Mallory Bennett named 2011 Boettcher Scholar PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

HHS senior Mallory Bennett was notified last week of her selection as a 2011 Boettcher Foundation Scholarship recipient.

Each year, the Boettcher Foundation grants 40 merit-based scholarships to superior young persons from Colorado high schools. Selection is strictly “merit-based,” allowing all seniors in Colorado to compete based upon their individual accomplishments.

Bennett’s accomplishments cover academics, leadership, music and athletics.

She has been on the 4.0 Honor Roll every semester and has earned Academic All-State first team honors in volleyball, basketball and track ever since she was a sophomore. A member of National Honor Society, Bennett serves as treasurer this year.

She’s been elected secretary of her class all four years of high school and was a member of the student leadership class her sophomore year.

Currently serving as president of the HHS FCCLA chapter, Bennett has also served as district secretary and president and is a three-time state first-place winner and national qualifer in FCCLA.

Bennett is a student leader in Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA), and she serves as editor-in-chief of the school yearbook staff. She has been a member of FBLA for two years.

In the music department, she was a member of the marching, concert and pep bands, playing the trumpet. She’s also been involved in two musicals, including this year’s.

Bennett has been a cheerleader for four years, serving as co-captain this year.

She has earned numerous honors in athletics in volleyball, basketball and track.

Mallory is the daughter of Mike and Susan Bennett of Holyoke.

Bennett joins an elite group of former HHS students who have been awarded Boettcher scholarships. These include Sherrill Sandstrom in 2001; Justin Newman, 1999; Barbara O’Neal, 1977; Allen Howland, 1976; Lynda (Oliver) Firme, 1974; and Michael Mailander, 1973.

Scholarship winners selected from over 1,300

This year’s scholarship winners were selected from over 1,300 qualified applicants on the basis of their superior academic ability, demonstrated service ethic, outstanding character and their participation and leadership in both school and community activities.

To be eligible for one of these prestigious awards, students must rank among the top five percent of their graduating class, have a combined score of at least 1200 on the critical reading and math sections of the SAT or a composite ACT score of at least 27, be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident and a Colorado resident for their junior and senior years of high school.

Begun in 1952 as a statewide competition recognizing scholarship, leadership and achievement in young men and women, the Boettcher Scholarship program has sought to reward outstanding high school seniors who demonstrate the potential to make significant contributions to Colorado.

Since the program’s inception, the Foundation has awarded over 2,200 scholarships. Today, the Boettcher Foundation provides approximately $3 million in scholarship support annually, making the program one of the largest merit-based scholarship programs in the nation.

These awards cover virtually all college expenses for recipients who choose to further their education in their home state of Colorado. The scholarships consist of full tuition, fees, a book allowance and an annual stipend for living expenses.

Scholarships are granted for eight semesters at either a public or private four-year college or university within the state as long as the scholar maintains a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0.