Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
‘Wizard of Oz’ on HHS stage this weekend PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Dedicated to the memory of Velma Biddle, the HHS drama department performance of “The Wizard of Oz” is scheduled for Friday and Saturday, Nov. 21-22, at 7:30 p.m. in the Heginbotham Auditorium at HHS.

During the Friday night performance, director Eric Conklin will be recognizing Delta Kappa Gamma for the Velma Biddle memorial moneys that were used to purchase the hanging microphones on the stage.

Biddle was a long-time supporter of the arts and wrote many reviews for HHS productions during the 1980s and ’90s.

Advertising sponsors of the printed program coordinated by the Holyoke Enterprise for the 2013 musical were also acknowledged by Conklin, as a portion of those program proceeds went toward the new microphones, as well.

“The Wizard of Oz” is written by L. Frank Baum with music and lyrics by Harold Arlen and E.Y. Harburg.

When action begins, Dorothy Gale is swept away to a magical land in a tornado and embarks on a quest to see the Wizard who can help her return home.

To view the full article, consider setting up an e-Subscription to the Enterprise. Call 970-854-2811.

“Wizard of Oz” cast members are pictured from left, front row, Maritza Quintana, Maria Moreno, Alma Alejandre, Tamara Penzing, Madysen Powell, Megan Humphreys, Juana Penzing, Danielle Brandt, Morgan Philips, Tyler Lamm and Jonathan Quintana; second row, Jimena Nuñez, Sabryn Burris, Havyn Powell, Yeidi Juarez, Llely Ochoa, Blanca Martinez and Emmanual J. Vasquez; third row, Kylie Purkeypile, Erin Andersen, Ashlyn Churchwell, Lauren Bergner, Kristin Vieselmeyer, Loren Jo Oberle, Kayla Marshall, Anastasia Conklin, Whitney Powell, Brook Prottsman and Koby Way; fourth row, Ximena Chavez, Perla Olivas, Alaisa Rubio, Brenna Sullivan, Haley Van Overbeke, Amy Mackay, Mason Vernon, Ashton Robles and Blye McCallum; and back row, Megan Vieselmeyer, Lori McWilliams, Jaxie Gerk, Dominique Penzing, Logan Osborne, Anna Jelden, Morgan Golden, Tori Hatton, Jadon Frost,  Troy Brown, Evan Jones, Isaiah Rahe, Tristen Ferguson and A.J. Brandt. Not pictured are Rosa Ochoa, Savannah Burris, Dylan Miles, Mikayla Kliber-Voigt, Jackie Valenzuela, Ashlynn Guzman and Robert Soukup.

—Enterprise photo

Holyoke Enterprise November 20, 2014