Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Phillips County farms qualify for assistance due to recent drought PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated eight counties in Nebraska as primary natural disaster areas due to the recent drought.

The counties are Chase, Hayes, Keith, Perkins, Frontier, Hitchcock, Lincoln and Red Willow.

“Our hearts go out to those Nebraska farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers and rural communities through these difficult times.”

“We’re also telling Nebraska producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood,” he added.

To read the full article, subscribe to our e-Edition. Call 970-854-2811.

Holyoke Enterprise April 24, 2014