Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Phillips County 2013 vote tallies compared to official outcomes PDF Print E-mail
Written by Brenda Johnson Brandt   

Phillips County voters went with the state outcome in defeating Amendment 66 (funding for public schools) and passing Proposition AA (retail marijuana taxes) in the Nov. 5 election.

The $950 million income tax increase and school-funding format in Amendment 66 was defeated 66-34 percent in the state of Colorado. Phillips County voters turned it down by an even bigger margin, 76-24 percent.

Senate Bill 213, which reforms the state finance formula, passed and was signed by the governor earlier this year. However, it requires voter approval before November 2017 in order to go into effect. That funding approval was presented this year in the form of Amendment 66 and was soundly defeated.

Proposition AA, which imposes taxes on retail marijuana sales, passed 65-35 percent statewide. In Phillips County, the measure was approved 67-33 percent.

A 15 percent excise tax on the wholesale price and an initial 10 percent sales tax on the retail price for recreational marijuana is involved in Proposition AA.

Phillips County passes 51st-state question

Passing the 51st-state secession ballot measure 62-38 percent, Phillips County was one of five to do so. Six counties nixed the secession question.

Phillips County commissioners advocated in their campaign that a vote for the 51st state was a vote saying a message needs to be sent for change in the rural voice in the state legislature.

Phillips County administrator Randy Schafer reiterated after the election that the issue has not gone away, even though six counties nixed the secession question. “We will work so that we have a voice,” he stated.

Schafer said the participating counties in the 51st-state movement will be meeting Nov. 18 to determine the details of their effort to move forward in trying to change statewide representation in the legislature.

Other counties that approved the 51st-state question were Cheyenne, Kit Carson, Washington and Yuma.

Counties voting the secession question down were Elbert, Lincoln, Logan, Moffat, Sedgwick and Weld.

Holyoke Enterprise November 14, 2013