Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Spring sports athletes recognized PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Holyoke High School athletes were recognized during the spring athletic awards night at HHS Monday, May 20.

Athletic director Sandy Rahe awarded five seniors with three for four awards. The award is given to those who participate in three sports all four years of their high school career.

Recipients of the three for four award were Logan Zeiler, Brett Cumming, Deyten Klein, Matt Golden and manager Rachel Schneider.

Five HHS students were recognized for their involvement in three sports for all four years of their high school career. Recipients for the three for four award are pictured from left, manager Rachel Schneider, Deyten Klein, Brett Cumming and Logan Zeiler. Not pictured is Matt Golden.  

—Enterprise photo

Rahe also presented the Academic All-State first team and honorable mention awards to junior and seniors athletes who also excelled academically.

In order to earn first team honors, a junior or senior must have a cumulative GPA of 3.6 or higher and be a letter winner. Academic All-State first team recipients were seniors Lindsay Helgoth, Alyssa Cordova, Logan Zeiler, Brett Cumming and Rachel Schneider; and juniors Makayla Spitz, Jacinda Krueger, Tanner Smith, Logan Tharp, Tanner Smith and Trevor Dalton.

Earning honorable mention required having a GPA between 3.3 and 3.59. Recipients of the award were seniors Deyten Klein and Jose Jaquez; and juniors Brittney Prottsman, Jacob Vasa, Malena McWilliams and Ryan Krogmeier.

Coaches for HHS spring sports honored participating athletes as follows:


Girls’ golf

Coaches Garrett Gordon and Miko Martinez presented the girls’ golf team with their awards.

Earning letters were seniors Alyssa Cordova and Caitlyn Kramer; juniors Makayla Spitz and Kelsey Kramer; and sophomore Alex McCallum.

Participation awards were presented to juniors Dominique Slack and Taylor Bernard; and freshman manager Kaely Zilla.

Spitz and Cordova were also recognized as All-Conference players while Caitlyn Kramer was recognized as All-Conference honorable mention.



Coaches Luke Thomas, Cindi Beavers and Guy Kuntz presented track awards.

Earning letters this year were seniors Cierra Prelle, Lindsay Helgoth and Matt Golden; juniors Zuri Lopez, Brittney Prottsman, Jacinda Krueger, Malena McWilliams, Andrew Kent, Daniel Bencomo, Carlos Diaz, Jacob Vasa and Ryan Parker; sophomores Rosa Ochoa, Javy Rojo and T.J. Gertner; and freshmen Dani Brandt, Lori McWilliams, Roni Beavers, Adi Bencomo, Eric Rojo and Marques Harvey.

Participation awards were received by seniors Gaby Chavez, Chris Pell and Jose Jaquez; sophomores Anastasia Conklin, Bianca Rodriguez, A.J. Brandt, Logan Gift, Luke Stewart, Morgan Golden, Jack Gorwitz and Troy Brown; and freshmen Monica Montes, Megan Parker, Peyton Dittmer, Wendy Payan, Edgar Cruz, Cody Lamm, Fernando Rojo, Jesus Martinez and Xander Nelson.

Senior Rachel Schneider and freshman Makenna Bishop were also awarded letters for their work as managers.

Jacinda Krueger and Carlos Diaz were also praised for qualifying and competing at the state track meet.



Coaches John Zilla, Marcus Kammer and Brett Gerk presented the baseball awards.

Earning letters were seniors Astolfo Rojo, Logan Zeiler, Jaydin Goldenstein, Brett Cumming, Alfredo Santos, Jesus Hermosillo and Deyten Klein; juniors Logan Tharp, Trevor Dalton, Tanner Smith and Ryan Krogmeier; sophomores Wyatt Powell, Dylan Kotch and Nathan Miles; and freshmen Taylor Mayden, Bradley Cumming and Jesus Martinez.

Participation awards were received by senior Cesar Hinostroza; junior Ivan Millan; sophomore Marvin Gardea; and freshmen Scott Osborne, Juan Quintana and Jahir Gardea.

Eighth-grade team managers Brendan Mayden, Brenden Kage and Gunnar Kroeger also received participation awards.

Holyoke Enterprise May 23, 2013