Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Fall sport athletes recognized PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   
    Athletes in the HHS golf, volleyball, football and softball programs were recognized for their achievement and dedication at the Nov. 25 award program for 2008 fall sports.
    Booster Club president Casey Gerk emceed the program, introducing coaches and promoting the Booster Club organization.
    Coaches for each sport recapped the team’s season, acknowledged supporters and awarded letters, participation certificates and special awards.
    Following the presentation of awards, the athletes and coaches, as well as their families, enjoyed lasagna provided by Holyoke Marketplace, and desserts and salads contributed by the families.
    Golf coach Garrett Gordon announced letterwinners for the 2008 season: seniors Brett Gerk and Trent Harshbarger, juniors Duncan Brandt and Geoffrey Mattson and freshman Coleton Spitz.
    Participation awards were presented to Chris Bieber, Caleb Kafka and Brent Vasa.
    Brandt was cited for making the Colorado High School Activities Association (CHSAA) Academic All-State First Team.
    Harshbarger was honored as most valuable golfer; Gerk, iron man award; and Bieber and Kafka, most improved. Gordon also acknowledged assistant coach Pat Vasa.
    Sandra Rahe and Tammie Timm awarded the volleyball honors for the season.
    Letterwinners for the season included seniors Phawn Carper, Tessa Reynolds-Dizmang and Krista Schafer; juniors Megan Colglazier, Elise Nelson, Chasity Pelle, Nora Ann Roth, Marissa Smith and Kendra Timm; and freshman Erin Lebsack.
    Participation certificates went to Shelby Beavers, Janna Smith, KrisAnna Ham, Heather Duester, Shellie Hysell, Mallory Bennett, Brandi Orand, Kimberly Peña, Sydney Nelson, Chantel Rafert, Elle-Jade Megaw, Whitni Redman, Patricia Adams, Alyssa Roll, Pilu Lund and manager Natasha Peregoy.
    All-Conference honors were noted for juniors Pelle and Timm.
    The HHS volleyball team was recognized as a CHSAA Academic Team Champion with a varsity GPA average of 3.51.
    Academic All-State First Team honors were earned by Mallory Bennett, Carper, Nelson, Pelle and Smith. Academic All-State Honorable Mention recognition went to Colglazier and Lebsack.
    Coach George Purnell and assistants John Ortner, Russ Sprague, Rod Trumper, Mike Smith, Aaron Sprague, Aaron Mosenteen and Dusty Sprague recognized the HHS football players.
    All team members were recognized as letterwinners for the season. They include seniors Austin Tharp, Dylan Bradley, Brandon Price, Michal Brown, Mitch Wittman, Coltin Houghtelling, Erik Scharin, Tiago Cavalcanti and Shung Xuezhi.
    Juniors Kyle Carper, Ryan Baumgartner, Evan Swanson, Brandon Oosthuysen, Mark Gertner, Shaun Beck, Luke Garrett and Logan Krueger.
    Sophomores Brian DeBoer, Preston King, Seth Baker, Chris Yanez and Casey Sage.
    Freshmen Reid Baumgartner, Broc Pelle, Austin Killin and Par­ker Redfern.
    Also recognized were trainer Tracy Trumper and team managers Sara Kumm, Kaylee Groshans and Mallory Purnell.
    Tharp and Wittman were congratulated for being voted as honorary team captains for the season.
    North Central All-Conference first team honors were announced for Tharp, Carper and Krueger. Honorable Mention All-Conference recognition went to Price, Bradley, Gertner and Garrett.
    The HHS football team was honored as a CHSAA Academic Team Champion with a varsity GPA average of 3.04.
    CHSAA Academic All-State First Team honors were earned by Krueger, Ryan Baumgartner, Carper and Bradley.
    Brittany Krueger and Stefan Betley presented softball awards for the 2008 season.
    Letterwinners included seniors Katie Hoffner, Kelsey Scott and Maddie Starkebaum; juniors Brittany Durbin and Molly Fricke; sophomores Makenzie Ault, Macey Pierce and Marci Vasa; and freshmen Ashley Campbell, Laura Gerk, Karci Lockwood and Jordan Zeiler.
    Participation awards went to Mariah Struckmeyer, Brooke Parker, Catrina Krueger, Christa Durbin, Becca Brandt, Briar Berg­ner, Ashley Gragg, Nicole Brandt and Eveliina Rantanen;   and managers Amy Krogmeier and Sianna Gomez.
    Coach Krueger recognized Ault as most valuable player; Campbell, top offensive player; Hoffner, top defensive player; Gerk, rookie of the year; Vasa, clutch award; Fricke, outfield player of the year; and Pierce, infield player of the year.
    Patriot League All-Conference honors were announced for Campbell on the first team and Ault, honorable mention.
    The HHS softball team earned CHSAA Academic Team Champion honors with a varsity GPA average of 3.64.
    Academic All-State First Team honors went to Ault, Fricke, Gerk, Pierce, Scott, Starkebaum and Zeiler; with Academic All-State Honorable Mention recognition to Campbell, Durbin, Lockwood and Vasa.