Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Steve Starkebaum honored as ‘Friend of 4-H’ PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Recognized for his continued support of Phillips County 4-H, long past the years of his own children being involved, Steve Starkebaum was honored as this year’s Friend of 4-H.

Recognition was given at the Oct. 7 4-H Achievement Program at the Haxtun Community Center.

Starkebaum served as a livestock superintendent for a number of years and continues to serve on the livestock committee.

Steve Starkebaum is recognized as this
year’s Phillips County “Friend of 4-H.”

—Enterprise photo

4-H members, leaders, family members and Fair award sponsors attended Sunday’s program to recognize the achievement of 4-H members throughout the year and to celebrate National 4-H Week.

County 4-H coordinator Kindra Plumb cited the National 4-H Week activities including decorated hay bales throughout the county, interviews with 4-H members on Star 92.3 radio, visits to Holyoke and Haxtun Elementary Schools and county commissioner proclamation designating National 4-H Week.

Janna Smith opened Sunday’s program with an impressive presentation from her Citizen Washington Focus experience in Washington, D.C. last summer.

All five 4-H clubs in Phillips County were recognized as Gold Club award winners this year. They include Better Beef Makers, Challengers, Holyoke Centennial, Paoli Hustlers and Raising Ranchers. Clubs were also recognized for their Community Pride project activities.

Graduating 4-H members in 2012 are Alyssa Roll, a member of Raising Ranchers; and Mariah Struckmeyer, Holyoke Centennial.

Ten-year member pins were earned by Kaylee Ham, Mariah Struckmeyer, Erin Vieselmeyer and Megan Vieselmeyer.

Five-year pins were presented to Elise Atkins, Emily Atkins, Lauren Bergner, Kaylee Camblin, Katie Gibson, Anna Jelden, Emily Jelden, Naydeen Knapp, Rebecca Owens and Keegan Shaw.

First-year member pins went to Tanley Andersen, Molly Brown, Levi Dille, Brandon Durbin, Hailey Durbin, Tristen Ferguson, Kaitlyn Kent, Owen Knode, Kassidy Porter, Colby Purkeypile, Kylie Purkeypile, Ashley Rahe, Taylor Trumper and Promise Wright.

Karin Kramer was recognized as a 20-year leader, and Jack Wieland as a 15-year leader. Five-year leader pins were presented to Joan Bogan, Denise Smith and Brent and Tina Vieselmeyer.

First-year leader pins went to Tim Becker, Brandy Miller, Tracy Roll, Kevin Salvador, Pam Struckmeyer and Julie Thayer.

Cloverbuds were introduced and include third-year members Theron Roll and Kristin Vieselmeyer; second-year Chase Johnson, Karlie Martin and Brooklyn Plumb; and first-year Mason Bogan, Abigail Dille, Ty Guthrie, Diego Jimenez, Katelin Kinnie, Braden Plumb, Kayden Porter and Joshua Wright.

Grand Champion Club awards were presented to Taylor Hendrix, secretary, Better Beef Makers; Elise Atkins, treasurer, Paoli Hustlers; and to Challengers for the scrapbook and fair booth.

Janna Smith tells of her experience at the
Citizen Washington Focus event last summer.

—Enterprise photo

Awards presented

Awards were acknowledged for all Grand Champion (GC) and Reserve Grand Champion (RGC) winners at the 2012 Phillips County Fair. Those who hadn’t previously received awards were presented with them at Sunday’s program.

Additionally, the numerous award sponsors were recognized.

Awards which were not previously announced at Fair time include:

Livestock recordbook awards—Allie Thompson, GC young junior; Owen Knode, RGC young junior; Lauren Bergner, GC junior; Kaylee Camblin, RGC junior; Emily Atkins, GC intermediate; Taylor Hendrix, RGC intermediate; Nicholas Ortner, GC senior; and Kody Timm, RGC senior.

GC herdsmen awards went to Better Beef Makers, beef and swine; Paoli Hustlers, goat and poultry; and Raising Ranchers, lamb and horse.

GC overall carcass awards were presented to Austin Vieselmeyer, beef; Allie Thompson, goat; Morganne Kumm, lamb; and Nicholas Ortner, swine.

GC production animal awards went to Taylor Hendrix, beef; Austen Struckmeyer, goat; Morganne Kumm, lamb; Nicholas Ortner, swine; and Baylor Struckmeyer, overall fed beef value.

In shooting sports awards, Austin Vieselmeyer was recognized as most improved shooter.

Livestock judging team members were introduced—Austin Vieselmeyer, Nick Ortner, Sidney Struckmeyer, Trent Huffman, Taylor Hendrix, Josilyn Lutze, Rebecca Owens and Lane Guthrie.

4-H program staff assistant Tracy Trumper acknowledged those who helped with the after-school enrichment program this past year. They included Nancy Dee, Christina Martinez, Dennis Herman, Rhonda Smith, Kellie Race, Barb Holtzman, Diana Green, Pat Wiebers and Sheila Johnson.

State Fair honors in both general and livestock projects were part of the printed program and were acknowledged Sunday.

Phillips County 4-H Council officers are installed at the conclusion of the annual Achievement Program in Haxtun Sunday, Oct. 7. Phillips County 4-H coordinator Kindra Plumb is pictured in front at left, with officers pictured from left, Nick Ortner, Sidney Struckmeyer, Elise Atkins, Austin Vieselmeyer, Josilyn Lutze, Luke Stewart and Drew Stewart.  

—Enterprise photo

County Council officers installed

To conclude the Oct. 7 achievemet awards program, a candlelight cermeony was used to install the 2012-13 Phillips County 4-H Council.

Newly-installed council members include Nick Ortner, president; Sidney Struckmeyer, vice president; Josilyn Lutze, secretary; Elise Atkins, treasurer; Drew Stewart, reporter; Luke Stewart and Austin Vieselmeyer, senators; Luke Stewart, parliamentarian; Mardi Stewart, leader advisor.

Also Taylor Hendrix and Austin Vieselmeyer, Better Beef Makers reps; Austin Herman and Josie Herman, Challengers reps; Sidney Struckmeyer and Alexandria McCallum, Holyoke Centennial reps; Elise Atkins and Emily Atkins, Paoli Hustlers reps; and Kenton Bogan and Tristen Roll, Raising Ranchers reps.

Holyoke Enterprise October 11, 2012