Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Baseball season gets under way PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Summer baseball has begun for four Holyoke teams. They traveled to Oshkosh, Neb. Monday, May 21 and played host to Sedgwick County Wednesday, May 23.

Holyoke has fielded two PeeWee teams, a Little League team and a Babe Ruth team.

Coaches for this year’s teams are Kyle Bules, Trevor Dalton and Nic Balog.

Bules enters his fifth summer coaching and has coached Holyoke’s high school team for six seasons.

Dalton, who will be an HHS junior in the fall, begins his second season as a coach. He has played two years for the HHS Dragon baseball team.



Summer baseball coaches are pictured from left, Nic Balog and
Trevor Dalton. Not pictured is Kyle Bules.  
—Enterprise photo


JR/SR High social studies teacher Nic Balog enters his first season as a coach. He moved to Holyoke in 2011 to begin his teaching career.

The teams will play each Monday, Wednesday and Friday throughout the month of June. The league tournament will be played in Ovid Wednesday-Saturday, June 20-23.

Start times each night are PeeWee at 4:30 p.m., Little League 6 p.m. and Babe Ruth 7:30 p.m.

All towns will have PeeWee, Little League and Babe Ruth with the exceptions of Fleming and Wray. Fleming has PeeWee and Little League and Wray has Babe Ruth only. When a team plays at Fleming, their Babe Ruth will play at Wray.

However, Wray is only able to host games on Mondays. If a team is scheduled to play at Wray on a night other than a Monday, Wray will have to travel to that team’s home field.

Holyoke has two PeeWee teams so two games will be played beginning at 4 p.m. instead of 4:30 p.m. They will be three innings and have a one-hour time limit.

In addition to Monday and Wednesday’s games, Holyoke will host Chappell, Neb. Friday, May 25; travel to Haxtun Wednesday, May 30; travel to Fleming/Wray Friday, June 1; host Oshkosh, Neb. Monday, June 4; travel to Ovid Wednesday, June 6; travel to Chappell, Neb. Friday, June 8; host Haxtun Monday, June 11; and host Fleming/Wray Wednesday, June 13.



Holyoke Enterprise May 24, 2012