Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Summer softball season begins PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Holyoke has fielded two softball teams for the 2012 summer schedule. Holyoke has a 9-12-year-old team and a 13-15-year-old team.

They traveled to Yuma Tuesday, May 22 to kick off the season.

Serving as coaches for this summer’s teams are Ashley Clayton and Laura Gerk.

Clayton enters her second year of coaching the summer league but she is no stranger to the diamond. She has coached the Lady Dragon softball team for three seasons leading them to state two years in a row. This year’s team made it to the big dance despite only having 10 players on the roster.



Ashley Clayton, at left, and Laura Gerk are serving as the
summer softball coaches this year. Holyoke has fielded
9-12- and 13-15-year-old teams this summer.  
—Enterprise photo


Clayton also played college softball at the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley.

Gerk, one of the HHS players on the successful Dragon teams and recent HHS grad, enters her first season helping coach the summer teams.

Games will be played on Tuesdays and Thursdays this year with no games being played on Saturdays. The 9-12 games will begin at 6 p.m. while the 13-15 games will start at 7:30 p.m.

In addition to Tuesday’s game, the teams will host Haxtun Thursday, May 24; host Wray Tuesday, May 29; host Chappell, Neb. Thursday, May 31; travel to Oshkosh, Neb. Tuesday, June 5; host Ogallala, Neb. Thursday, June 7; travel to Julesburg Tuesday, June 12; host Yuma Thursday, June 14; travel to Haxtun Tuesday, June 19 and travel to Wray Thursday, June 21.

The league tournament will be played in Ogallala Tuesday-Thursday, June 26-28.

Haxtun, Yuma and Chappell only have a 9-12-year-old team this year.



Holyoke Enterprise May 24, 2012