Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Wrestling awards for 2008-09 announced PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   
    When HHS 2008-09 winter sports athletes were recognized at a March 29 program, a number of the Dragon wrestlers, as well as their coach, Duane Stroh, were unable to attend as they were participating in yet another wrestling tournament.
    Wrestlers got together last week to celebrate the successful 2008-09 season and to present awards.
    Junior Chad Stroh and freshman Mark Edmonds were named recipients of the Larry Stroh Award, while the five state-placewinners were awarded the Bart Brown award. The placewinners included Stroh, Edmonds, Skyler Dittmer, Luke Garrett and Brian Strong.
    All team members lettered for the season. In addition to the five state placers, team members were Broc Pelle, Brandon Price, Mitch Wittman, Casey Sage, Seth Baker and Parker Redfern.
    Edmonds earned Colorado High School Activities Association (CHSAA) first-team academic honors, while Stroh was honorable mention.
    Additional awards were presented as follows: Stroh, most takedowns for season (91), most pins (29), best record (43-1), highest winning percentage (97.7%), most near-falls (77) and most tech falls (4); Dittmer, most reversals (51) and most come-from-behind wins (5); Baker, most escapes (28); and Sage, fastest pin (:18).