Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
21 qualify for FCCLA nationals PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

FCCLA members from HHS who attended the State Leadership Conference in Denver last week are
pictured from left, front row, Becca Brandt, Briar Bergner, Catrina Krueger, Tia Huffman and Jordan
Zeiler; second row, Ella Stewart, Marci Vasa, Cody Fricke, Mallory Bennett, Logan Tharp, Alyssa Killin,
Audi Peña, Jacob Vasa, Brittney Prottsman, Natali Rodriguez, Brenda Hernandez and Whitni Redman;
and back row, Trevor Dalton, Brian DeBoer, Erin Vieselmeyer, Molly Brandt, Maddie King, Ben Martinez,
Jeremy Loutensock and Matt Golden. Not pictured is Malena McWilliams.

Four Holyoke High School FCCLA teams made up of 21 students qualified for the FCCLA National Leadership Meeting in Anaheim, Calif. July 8-14.

This was achieved at FCCLA State Leadership Conference held at the Denver Marriott Tech Center April 7-9.

Seven Holyoke teams competed in six different STAR (Students Taking Action with Recognition) events. In addition to the top four teams, one other team won a gold medal and placed in the top four, while two teams earned bronze medal status.

“FCCLA.PWR^.NOW” was the theme of this year’s conference. Members also attended workshops focusing on leadership skills, suicide prevention, homelessness and seatbelt safety.

“I was very proud of our students. They worked hard, performed very well and represented Holyoke in a manner that we can all be proud of,” said Chapter advisor Susan Ortner.

First-place, gold medal, national qualifer teams follow:

Matt Golden and Jeremy Loutensock in Senior Applied Technology with their project on “Hearing Loss.” They received 99.5/100 points in the runoff.

Molly Brandt, Ben Martinez and Erin Vieselmeyer in Senior Chapter Service Project Display, with their “Every 15 Minutes” project. They earned a 98/100 in the runoff.

Trevor Dalton, Brenda Hernandez, Alyssa Killin, Maddie King, Audi Peña, Natali Rodriguez, Logan Tharp and Jacob Vasa in Junior Parliamentary Procedure. They earned a total score of 96.425/100. This included 29.125/30 in testing and 67.3/70 in presentation.

Mallory Bennett, Briar Bergner, Becca Brandt, Brian DeBoer, Cody Fricke, Catrina Krueger, Ella Stewart and Marci Vasa in Senior Parliamentary Procedure. They earned a score of 99.20/100 with 29.375/30 in testing and 69.83/70 in presentation.

Also earning a gold medal as one of the top four teams were Whitni Redman and Jordan Zeiler with their Senior Chapter Showcase Manual project showing the Chapter Program of Work.

Bronze medals were earned by Tia Huffman and Brittney Prottsman in Junior Focus on Children with their Children’s Health project; and Jacinda Krueger and Malena McWilliams in Junior Illustrated Talk with their Cafeteria Waste project.

Keynote speaker Justin Lookadoo was a highlight for the conference attendees. He focused on strategies related to the importance of attitude, the influence of character and the impact of values in a highly energized, humorous presentation.

Many Holyoke Chapter members were recognized for completing a variety of FCCLA national programs in the opening session. Those awards will be presented to students at the Chapter Awards Program Thursday, April 28.

Chapter advisor Ortner served as event chairperson for the Parliamentary Procedure event, and Gloria Bergner served as an event evaluator in Applied Technology.

Other parent sponsors included Susan Bennett and Misti Redman, as well as Dan Ortner.