Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
23 grab gloves for HHS season PDF Print E-mail
Written by Chris Lee   

Returning letterwinners for the 2011 HHS baseball team are pictured from left, front row, Brett
Cumming, Jesus Hermosillo and Deyten Klein; and back row, Reid Baumgartner, Jaydin Goldenstein,
Austin Killin and Brian DeBoer.           —Enterprise photo

Twenty-three turned out for the 2011 HHS baseball team which will begin the season Saturday, March 19 when they travel to Sedgwick County. First pitch is scheduled for 11 a.m. in Ovid.

The season was scheduled to begin Saturday, March 12 with Haxtun, but games were postponed to Tuesday, March 22.

The 2011 squad is a very young team with only five upperclassmen on the roster.

The Dragons return to the field after a 13-7 2010 season which was accompanied by a district championship and a regional tournament berth. Holyoke fell to Front Range Christian in the first round of the regional tournament.

Coach Kyle Bules is looking forward to the season but said the district will be very tough. Yuma drops down to 2A and finished as the seventh seed last year in 3A. Burlington was the fifth seed in 2A in 2010. Merino will not be in the district this year.

Bules said they will see four or five of the top 10 teams in the state, all of whom have a possibility of winning the state crown.

The coach begins his fourth year at the helm. Assistant coach for the Dragons is Marcus Kammer and Brett Gerk serves as a volunteer.

The Dragons are led by seven returning letterwinners. They include senior Brian DeBoer; juniors Reid Baumgartner and Austin Killin; and sophomores Jaydin Goldenstein, Jesus Hermosillo, Brett Cumming and Deyten Klein.

Others on the team include senior Dustin Carrick; juniors Chris Bieber and Nick Mitchell; sophomores Astolfo Rojo, Phillip Beck, Cesar Hinostroza, Logan Zeiler, Alfredo Santos, Spencer Kotch and Ben Martinez; and freshmen Wyatt Bishop, Trevor Dalton, Logan Tharp, Tanner Smith, Zach Roll and Ryan Krogmeier.