Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
HHS athletes recognized for spring performances PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Holyoke High School students were recognized for their outstanding athletic performances during the spring athletic awards night at HHS Tuesday, May 25.

Casey Gerk emceed the program and recognized five seniors with three for four awards. The award is given to those athletes who participate in three sports all four years of their high school career. They included Marissa Smith, Ryan Baumgartner, Logan Krueger, Kyle Carper and Shaun Beck.

Smith and Carper also were presented with Department of Navy and U.S. Marine Corps. awards for their participation and achievements in athletics.


Girls golf

Girls golf coach Garrett Gordon and manager Duncan Brandt presented the five HHS golfers with letters. They include Jordan Zeiler, Shayna Oosthuysen, Laura Gerk, Briar Bergner and Alyssa Roll.



Baseball coaches Kyle Bules and John Ortner presented the baseball team with their season awards.

Managers for the team were Logan Tharp, Gunnar Kroeger, Tanner Smith and Kaide Bules.

Participation awards were given to Phillip Beck, Chris Bieber, Dustin Carrick, Cesar Hinostroza, Spencer Kotch, Ben Martinez, Brandon Oosthuysen, Parker Redfern, Astolfo Rojo, Alfredo Santos and Logan Zeiler.

Receiving letters for the 2010 season were Brett Cumming, Jaydin Goldenstein, Jesus Hermosillo, Deyten Klein, Reid Baumgartner, Austin Killin, Broc Pelle, Brian DeBoer, Francisco Diaz, Ryan Baumgartner, Shaun Beck and Logan Krueger.

Krueger, DeBoer and Ryan Baumgartner were also named to the CHSAA All-State First Team.



Coaches Sandra Rahe and Rod and Tracy Trumper presented the track awards.

Receiving participation awards were Becca Weaver, Elissa Baker, Leo Ortiz, Payen Becerra and Joel Rodriguez.

Letterwinners for the 2010 season were manager Rachel Schneider, Chandler Gerk, Lindsay Helgoth, Matt Golden, Molly Brandt, Alex Quintana, Jeremy Loutensock, KrisAnna Ham, Frank Diaz, Heather Duester, Cody Fricke, Willie Greenman, Kaylee Groshans, Becca Brandt, Lauren Blomme, Mallory Bennett, Patricia Adams, Marci Vasa, Ashley Gragg, Kyle Carper, Marissa Smith, Nicole Brandt and Shelby Beavers.

Those athletes recognized for attending the state track meet were Quintana, Loutensock, Ham, Duester, Fricke, Greenman, Blomme, Bennett, Adams, Vasa, Gragg, Carper, Smith and Beavers.

Spring sport athletes receiving CHSAA first-team Academic Individual All-State honors with a GPA of 3.6 or higher were Logan Krueger, Marissa Smith, Nicole Brandt, Ryan Baumgartner, Kyle Carper, Mallory Bennett, Becca Brandt, Lauren Blomme and Brian DeBoer.

Honorable Mention was given to students with a GPA of 3.3-3.59 and included Shelby Beavers, Kaylee Groshans and Marci Vasa.