Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
County precinct caucuses set for Tuesday night PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Precinct caucuses for Phillips County registered Republicans and Democrats will be held next Tuesday, March 16.

These caucuses are organized by Colorado’s political parties to begin the process of selecting candidates and policy positions for the 2010 election. Caucuses are open to the public and participation is encouraged by the political parties.

Registered Republicans in Phillips County precincts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 8 (east part of county) will meet for the March 16 caucus at 7 p.m. at Zion Lutheran Church in Holyoke.

Republicans in precincts 5, 6 and 7 will meet at 7 p.m. at the Haxtun Community Center.

Phillips County Democratic caucuses will be held for all eight precincts at 7 p.m. Tuesday at the Phillips County Event Center.

In order to vote in any precinct caucus of a political party, the voter must meet the following requirements:

—be a resident of the precinct for at least 30 days.

—be registered to vote no later than Feb. 16, 2010.

—be affiliated with the party holding the caucus by Jan. 19, 2010 (except that any voter who turns 18 or becomes a naturalized citizen during the two months prior to the caucus may vote in the caucus even though he or she hasn’t been affiliated with the political party for the required time period).

Those seeking election to a county post from the Democratic or Republican parties must have filed their intent to seek nomination prior to Tuesday’s precinct caucuses in order to line up delegates for the ensuing county assembly.

Republicans and Democrats who do not go through the caucus and county assembly process may file to be a write-in candidate on the Aug. 10 primary election, if they file their intent by June 4.

At the precinct caucuses, each precinct in each party will elect a chairperson, as well as delegates and alternates to the county assemblies.

Phillips County Republican central committee chair Deb Carlstrom said one person from each precinct will be elected as a delegate to the county assembly and other delegate assemblies. As county chair, she will serve as the ninth delegate to the assemblies.

Carlstrom emphasized the precinct caucuses are the stepping stone to all assemblies, and she encourages participation.

The Republican county assembly is scheduled Saturday, March 27 at 9 a.m. at the Peerless Center in Holyoke. Candidates will be chosen by the delegates for open county offices.

Democratic Central Committee chair Dorothy Ortner also encourages participation in the political party process.

She noted at Tuesday’s caucuses, Democrats in the county will be electing precinct committeepersons, as well as delegates and alternates to the County Assembly.

The Democratic County Assembly has been scheduled Tuesday, April 6 from 7-9 p.m. at the Paoli Town Hall. Primary business for the county’s Democratic Assembly will be to designate delegates for U.S. Senate candidates Michael Bennet and Andrew Romanoff.

“It’s so important for people of both parties to participate and be willing to take leadership,” said Ortner.

Other officers for the Phillips County political parties are:

Republicans­—Kim Killin, vice chair; Monse Conde, secretary; and Roland Barkey, treasurer.

Democrats—Leo Mailander, vice chair; and Audrey Murray, secretary-treasurer.