Weather Forecast

Find more about Weather in Holyoke, CO
Click for weather forecast
Five Dragon football players earn All-Conference honors PDF Print E-mail
Written by Holyoke Enterprise   

Five Holyoke Dragon football players earned All-Conference honors for their efforts on the field during the 2009 season.

Seniors Kyle Carper and Logan Krueger were named to the first team All-Conference.

Sophomore Broc Pelle, freshman Jesus Hermosillo and sophomore Parker Redfern received honorable mention honors.

The Dragons played in one of the toughest conferences in 1A as both Yuma and Akron advanced to face each other in the state title game. Yuma ended up beating Akron 14-12 to win the state championship.

The Dragons were coached by Rod Trumper.

Joining Carper and Krueger on the first team were Kendall Monasmith, Layne Crumley, Brennan Hottinger, Byron Guy, Jourdan Hottinger and Chance Friedly of Akron; Colton Gardner, Michael Keever and Tyler Clawson of Highland; Rolando Celis, Dustin Marini, Taylor Risner and Kyle Pollock of Wiggins; Zach Jackson, Logan Willard, Ben Jones, Brett Vlasin and Michael Holmes of Wray; and Joel Rhoades, Mitch Wills, Nick Lovell, Austin Traphagen, Levi Zwirn, Grant Muirheid, Jordan Sprouse and Joe Haag of Yuma.

Joining Pelle, Hermosillo and Redfern on the honorable mention list were Logan Merrill, Brock Burchard, Terran Scheopner, Kale Hubert, Ashton Guy and Jeremy Kilpatrick of Akron; Nick Pacheco, Dean Irvin, Lee Groves and Michael Romero of Highland; Derek Walker, Jr. Leon and Travis Groves of Wiggins; Kelly Siegrist, Coby Buck, Austin Willard, Jarret Cure and Derek Schulz of Wray; and Jonathan Ferrari, Adrian Vega, Kelby Andrews, Chase Roubideaux, Seth Baucke, James Arambula and Sam Baucke of Yuma.